Skip to content

And the best video game made from a cartoon is…

May 27, 2011

A Tie Between:

The Simpsons: The Arcade Game & Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Turtles in Time!

This poll really brings me back to my childhood.  I mean, I don’t want to make this a sappy post about how I was raised in arcades, and blah blab blah, but really, I kind of was.  I used to have to scrounge for coins, beg my mom for change, so that I could go around the corner and play some games… which one was my favorite arcade game you ask?  Well, there are two that I will never forget: The Simpsons game and Metal Slug.

Before I start praising the two winners, let me preface with confessing I usually had a partner for both games, since we all know that games in the early 90’s were so much harder.  Most side-scrolling action games can be repetitive, but these two gems always kept me on my toes.  For The Simpsons, I would drop so much dough into the machine so that I could eat some donuts with Homer, oh, and save Maggie from the evil clutches of Mr. Burns and his flamboyant partner, Smithers.  Classic side-scroller, but the mini-games between stages set apart this arcade game from others with an always an entertaining battle with your teammates.  Turtles in Time, on the other hand, ate up more of my time on the Super Nintendo than any other game (and it actually still does).  Even though I have beaten this game around 700 times, with a record of 34 minutes, I still blow into the cartridge and pop it into the system every once in a while.  It doesn’t have mini-games or any other gimmick to pull you in, it is just a perfect side-scroller with nothing but action.  Plus, I love throwing the foot soldiers towards the screen, it’s a great way to end their evil lives.

RESULTS:

The Simpsons: The Arcade Game: 4 votes

– Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Turtles in Time: 4 votes

The Simpsons Road Rage: 1 vote (I guess my boy Durrekk voted)

South Park: 0 votes (I blame myself for all these zeros)

Beavis and Butt-head: 0 votes (I stopped writing and people stopped following)

The Simpsons: Bart’s Nightmare: 0 votes (such a creepy game)

Spongebob’s Boating Bash: 0 votes (but hopefully, people start voting again)

Ed, Edd n Eddy: Jawbreakers: 0 votes (I expected this result)

Mighty Morphin Power Rangers: 0 votes (read explanation below)

So, I was going to keep the Power Rangers game off this post, try to hide it, but I thought I would own up to my stupidity.  I know there was never a Power Rangers cartoon, but I guess I added the game to the list because it was such a great game and it came out around the same time all these other side-scrolling, 90’s cartoon, games.  I wasn’t thinking, I wasn’t focused, and it somehow got onto this poll. It won’t happen again.

Speaking of things that won’t happen again.. me disappearing.  I’m finally out of college, moved away to the West Coast, and have all the time in the world to write and play video games (well, not all the time in the world, I still have a job, but you know what I mean).

So, enjoy.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Moose permalink
    May 27, 2011 12:00 pm

    You got a lot of catching up to do. You’re counterpart over at Movies is making major moves over at Moviefone now. I expect you to be writing for IGN by the end of the summer.

    Glad you’re back, congrats on graduating, and game on.

    (Was that lame? “game on”? I feel like that was incredibly lame. Whatever, I’m keeping it there.)

    • May 29, 2011 7:00 pm

      Thanks! And I’ll do my best, Moose.

      And don’t worry, it wasn’t lame… well, maybe a little, but I enjoyed it.

  2. June 1, 2011 11:51 am

    I never played Turtles In Time, but The Simpsons Arcade is just awesome. I can’t even tell you how many quarters I spent playing that game…

    Would love to see that end up on XBLA/PSN sometime.

    • June 2, 2011 12:01 am

      I know right! Being able to play The Simpsons Arcade game now would make me so happy.

      And if you ever get a chance, spend some time with Turtles in Time. I literally still play it, a lot, and whenever someone wants to play SNES, I suggest that game.

  3. June 3, 2011 9:28 am

    Been meaning to stop by and welcome you back, so……Welcome Back!

Leave a Reply

